The 10-20-Life Law
Speak with a St. Petersburg Criminal Defense Attorney
In 1999, Governor Bush signed into law the 10-20-LIFE bill. The law requires
a minimum 10-year sentence for crimes committed with a gun, a 20-year
sentence for firing the gun during the commission of a crime, and 25 years
to life if the bullet fired caused death or injury. The
legislation enacted to implement the Governor's proposal provided mandatory sentences
for felons convicted of crimes in which they used a gun.
LeavenLaw has protected the rights of those facing difficult legal situations. We
are proud to uphold a tradition of excellence and have established a track
record of success for our clients. Our St. Petersburg
criminal defense lawyer team is backed by decades of experience and has extensive resources
to handle a wide variety of cases.
Call our firm at 727-346-6050 today to learn more about your charges.
The bill signed in 1999 imposes harsh penalties on those who possess or
use a gun in conjunction with a crime.
The following provisions [Section 775.087 (2)-(4), Florida Statutes] became
effective for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1999:
For pulling a gun during a crime, a mandatory
minimum sentence of 10 years is imposed.
felony crimes or attempted felonies, the 10-year mandatory sentence is authorized
if the criminal possessed a gun (or destructive device).
- For firing the gun during a crime the mandatory minimum sentence is 20 years.
For injuring or killing a victim by firing the gun during a crime, a mandatory
minimum sentence from
25 years to life in prison is authorized.
For many years, it has been a felony crime in Florida for felons to possess
guns. Recognizing that felons who possess guns, despite this violation
of law, may intend to commit other serious crimes using guns, the 10-20-Life
legislation provided for a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 3 years
for such known felons who possess a gun. This provision alone has affected
many felons sentenced to prison in Florida. The legislation also increased
to a 15-year minimum prison term when the offender possesses a semiautomatic
firearm and its high-capacity detachable box magazine or a machine gun.
To find out more information about your case,
contact LeavenLaw today!